sitespeedpick.blogg.se

Ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers
Ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers









RG135s go for less than $400 USD in Reverb, currently.Īre the pickups the same size as Fender Stratocaster pickups and Gibson PAF pickups? I'm not as concerned about the pickup configurations, because I'll be ripping them out, anyway, and Ibanez thoughtfully routed the Roadstar II Standard models with a universal cavity (including the AH10 and AH20), so that any common pickup config will fit without re-routing the body. It seems that I must look for a 1986 RG110 (bridge humbucker only), RG120 (HH), RG135 (SSS) or RG140 (SSH), the only four models that have the exact features I want. The AH10 continued into 1986, to be supplemented with an AH20 model that included a neck humbucker, as well. Are these the most overpriced guitars in existence? I think they might be.

#Ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers upgrade

I cannot for the life of me understand why they would be considered worth that much money, since the only significant upgrade compared to the lowest-priced instrument in the line is the ebony fretboard. These guitars list on Reverb for over $2000 USD. The fretboard radius is 17", too flat in my opinion, and the string spacing is apparently 53 mm, which they describe as unusually narrow. This appears to be substantially similar to the 1986 RG110, save for that the pickup is a special model, the fretboard is ebony, the hardware is black instead of chrome, and the output jack is on the edge of the body, instead of in the pickguard. In 1985, Ibanez offered the AH10 Allan Holdsworth Signature Model. Does anyone else have a Roadstar II like this from the same era? My guitar seems to be an odd bird, however, because she seems to have the body/pickup configuration of a 1986 RG110, the RG110 is listed as only being available with a rosewood fretboard, not a fretboardless maple neck, as was offered in 1985, yet the 1985 models did not include one with a bridge humbucker only. I actually like the shape and feel of these guitars better than Fender Stratocasters.Īfter studying the vintage Ibanez catalogs I found online, it seems that only in 19 did Ibanez produce the particular mix of features I want: the Powerocker tremolo bridge and necks with proper fingerboards, instead of frets set directly into the neck wood.

ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers

With the prices of guitars getting worse every year, I have been thinking about the mid 1980's Ibanez Roadstar II guitars as a good quality alternative, once a few upgrades have been performed.

ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers

I took the whole thing apart, cleaned it, put it back together, restrung it, and adjusted the action, and discovered that while the electronics are terrible, it's actually a joy to play. My father must have purchased it at a yard sale or flea market, because it was part of his collection that I found after he died. It has a maple neck, no fretboard, and one bridge humbucking pickup. I have an Ibanez Roadstar II with a 1985 serial number.









Ibanez roadstar ii serial numbers